Jefferson County Forestland Classification

Jefferson County Fire Station (Madras, Ore.) January 6, 2023



Attendance:

Committee Members

Ben Duda—ODF
Don Colfels—OSFM
Ariel Cowan—OSU Extension

Diane Burkeen—Jefferson County
Tom Norton—Jefferson County
Ryan Wolfenbarger—Jefferson County

Others Present

Rob Pentzer—COD District Forester Gordon Foster—COD Asst. District Forester Frank Jones—Prineville Wildland Fire Sup. Carrie Capp—ODF technical support Christie Shaw—ODF tech and policy support Allison Rayburn—John Day Unit Forester (virtual)

Meeting Minutes

Introductions: Committee members and others present.

Overview: Ben Duda went through the PowerPoint presentation ODF used to explain the forestland classification process to Jefferson County Commissioners in early August when requesting committee creation. This PowerPoint includes an explanation of the duties of the committee and a proposed timeline of the forestland classification process and related forest patrol components. General discussion of applicable statutes and rules occurred during the presentation.

Public Comment: No members of the public were present.

Election of Officers: The committee agreed to elect a chair, vice-chair, and secretary for the committee.

Ben Duda nominated himself as Secretary. Tom Norton 2nd. Much of the committee work is completed by the secretary, including meeting minutes, meeting anouncements, committee documentation, and working with the chair to develop meeting agendas. ODF's Central Oregon District will coordinate to complete these tasks.

Ariel Cowan nominated herself as Vice-Chair. Diane Burkeen 2nd.

Chief Colfels nominated himself as Chair. Ben Duda 2nd.

The committee unanimously elected the officers.

By-Laws

By-Laws from the Joint Hood River and Wasco Counties Forestland Classification Committee were used as a base for the committee to modify for the Jefferson County committee.

- Chief Colfels proposed changing the quorum from five to four. Tom Norton 2nd. (section 6 – Meetings)
 - Meetings may be held at any time upon call of the chairman or upon written request to the secretary by not less than two members of the committee. The secretary shall send notification of the meetings to all members of the committee no less than 10 days prior to the date of such meeting. Four members shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.
- Chief Colfels proposed modifying the language regarding passing of motions to read a "simple majority". Ben Duda 2nd. (section 7 – Conduct of Meetings)
 - A motion shall be deemed to have passed with a simple majority of Committee members present approving it.

Both modifications were approved by the committee unanimously.

The Committee agreed to have a consistent meeting time/day each month, with the meeting location to move around the county and have a virtual option available.

Example Classification

Ben Duda showed examples of classification in Deschutes County and discussed the next process of working through some of the issue papers developed by other counties working through forestland classification.

Issue Papers

See Supplemental Decision Point Document.

Chosen alternatives were all selected by committee consensus.